YUP Award Winners

We’re pleased to announce that Michael V. Pisani, author of Imagining Native America in Music, and Boris Gasparov, author of Five Operas and a Symphony, have won a 2006 Deems Taylor Award sponsored by the American Society of Composers, Authors & Publishers.

Vivial Perlis and Libby Van Cleve, co-authors of Composers’ Voices from Ives to Ellington, have won a special recognition award for their ongoing work.

The ASCAP-Deems Taylor Award program recognizes books, articles, liner notes, broadcasts and websites on the subject of music selected for their excellence. The awards were established in 1967 to honor the memory of composer/critic/commentator Deems Taylor who died in 1966 after a distinguished career.

1 Discussion on “YUP Award Winners”
  • When books such as these win a prize could you add the details please to the individual catalogue entry too for the benefit of prospective purchasers? Thanks very much.

Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published.